BRICS Outreach

In 2013, South Africa took the initiative to activate the provision for a BRICS Dialogue with partners from the Global South, as per the Sanya Declaration that stated: “We are open to increasing engagement and cooperation with non-BRICS countries, in particular emerging and developing countries, and relevant international and regional organisations”.

Subsequent to South Africa having hosted this BRICS Outreach Dialogue between BRICS and African Leaders, all the BRICS members have also hosted an outreach dialogue on the margins of their respective Summits. In this regard, South Africa has determined that an Outreach will again be held on the margins of the Summit with African leaders to ensure both continuity from the 5th BRICS Summit in eThekwini in 2013 and BRICS support for African industrialisation and infrastructure development.

The Sub-theme for the BRICS-AFRICA Outreach is as follows: BRICS in Africa: Working towards the realisation of the African Aspirations.

To the BRICS-Africa Outreach Dialogue South Africa has elected to invite the Leaders of the following countries

  • • Rwanda - as Chair of the African Union (AU);
  • • Senegal - as Chair of the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC);
  • • Gabon - as Chair of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS);
  • • Uganda - as Chair of the East African Community (EAC);
  • • Ethiopia - as Chair of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD);
  • • Togo - as Chair of the Economic Community of West Africa States (ECOWAS);
  • • Zambia - as incoming Chair of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA);
  • • Namibia - as incoming Chair of the Southern African Development Community (SADC);
  • • Angola - as Chair of the SADC Organ; and
  • • Chair of the African Union Commission, Mr Moussa Faki Mahamat.  

In 2017, China innovated on the traditional Outreach approach by introducing the concept of BRICS Plus, which entailed a dialogue with Emerging Markets and Developing Countries.

The rationale behind the BRICS Plus concept is to create a platform for greater interaction and partnerships amongst countries of the Global South to shape the agenda to effect changes in the global economy, notably for (i) development and economic growth through trade and investment integration, and (ii) cooperation in global governance financial, economic and political institutions.

In the interest of ensuring maximum synergy between South Africa’s Chairship of BRICS and that of China’s in 2017, South Africa has also elected to consider a BRICS Plus Initiative, under the sub-theme: BRICS Plus: Securing sustainable and inclusive growth for the prosperity of the Global South. In this regard, South Africa has elected to invite the Leaders of the following countries representing Regional Economic Communities in the Global South and the United Nations:

  • • Argentina - as Chair of the G20 and influential Common Market of the South (MERCOSUR) member
  • • Indonesia - as Co-Chair of the New Africa-Asia Strategic Partnership with South Africa and influential Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) member
  • • Egypt - as Chair of the Group of 77 (G77)+China
  • • Jamaica - as incoming Chair of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
  • • Turkey - as Chair of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • • United Nations (UN) Secretary-General, Mr Antonio Guterres